Sign in to follow this  
JDBC567

New Player

Hi!

Im JDBC567. I like tanks.

I just started playing AW today and would like to get to know the game better.

Any suggestions for good starter tanks?

Im a fairly experianced world of tanks(pc and blitz) player so are the core mechanics in AW similar?

Thats all for now!

Oh and i almost forgot...do some shells cost more than other ones? Like premium shells or something?

I couldnt find any mention of shell cost in game

Edited by JDBC567 (see edit history)

Welcome to the game, hope you can avoid the temptation of spending money!

6 minutes ago, JDBC567 said:

All low tiers will be rebalanced very soon in the coming weeks (could even be next week), so any advice based on the current meta may not survive for long.

That said, I still personally feel the T-series MBTs are more newbie friendly than the Merkavas and Magachs, because of their combination of high alpha, relatively decent protection and mobility. They aren't necessarily the best at surviving a lot of damage, but learning how to avoid taking damage and capitalizing on your mobility and alpha advantage will significantly improve your skill level faster than playing safe.

I would start with the PT-85 > T-62 > T-72, after that you get to play the "good" vehicles. The T-series from tier 6 and above are all consistently good performers.

Alternatively you can go down the Type 62 > Type 69 > Type 80-II > T-72 path. This takes slightly longer, but you get to have a good tier 4 vehicle to play.

Another alternative is to simply play whatever you like up to tier 6, afterwards you can start investing in the branch of vehicles that interest you the most. Hopefully by then you will have developed your own preferences based on your skill and experience.

23 minutes ago, JDBC567 said:

Im a fairly experianced world of tanks(pc and blitz) player so are the core mechanics in AW similar?